This little gem lies among larger harbours on the Gold Coast of Sealand. Built as a fort in the English Wars, it was attacked by the Danish navy in 1807. The harbour was built as a gunboat harbour, but today it is small and peaceful, and well visited throughout the summer. The harbour is unique, as it is built exclusively with natural materials such as boulders and wood.
The Friends of Gammel Humlebak Harbour were awarded the Fredensborg Kulturpris, a local cultural award, for their efforts to maintain the harbour – not only for raising money for restoration after the storm Bodil, but also for their long-term efforts.
Just outside the harbour lies the wreck of the warship Sjælland which sunk on the 2nd of April 1801. It lies close to shore in shallow waters and is thus popular among divers. The harbour nurtures its traditions, and the cannon league takes care of firing salutes from the historic cannon on special occasions.
The nearest neighbors are the famous art museum Louisiana and the church of Humlebæk with its pristine churchyard. What used to be the old inner harbour is now the church lake, Kirkesøen, beautifully situated between Louisiana and the church. Behind the harbour lies the most handsome fishing village composed of 18 listed buildings enclosed by their characteristically low fences. These buildings are the first example of real estate having been moved, as they were originally situated in an are around Kirkesøen.
There is one remaining commercial fisherman left, who also happens to be the harbour master.